A - I n f o s
a multi-lingual news service by, for, and about anarchists **

News in all languages
Last 30 posts (Homepage) Last two weeks' posts

The last 100 posts, according to language
Castellano_ Català_ Deutsch_ English_ Français_ Italiano_ Português_ Russkyi_ Suomi_ Svenska_ Türkçe_ All_other_languages
{Info on A-Infos}

(en) [abcf-ern] Chattanooga 3: Major Update [new contacts, news, actions!]

From JoNina Abron <jonina1@yahoo.com>
Date Sun, 24 Dec 2000 03:57:32 -0500 (EST)


 ________________________________________________
      A - I N F O S  N E W S  S E R V I C E
            http://www.ainfos.ca/
 ________________________________________________

CHATTANOOGA 3 UPDATE
======================
New contacts, suggested actions and more

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X

THIS MAIL INCLUDES
-> San Francisco Indymedia Launches Chattanooga 3 Website! *new*
-> Upcoming Actions in Scotland for the Chattanooga 3 *new*
-> Organize a Chattanooga 3 Action in Your Area - Some Suggestions
-> Continue to write letters for the Chattanooga 3 *new contacts*
-> Raise the Chattanooga 3 to local media *new info*
-> "Keep Fighting" from Lorenzo Komboa Ervin
-> What is Houston ABC-SG/ABCF?

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X

-> San Francisco Indymedia Launches Chattanooga 3 Website! *new*

San Francisco Indymedia has launched a Chattanooga 3 Website!
http://sf.indymedia.org/lke.php
[Thanks to the camaradas for their support!]

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X

-> Upcoming Actions in Scotland for the Chattanooga 3 *new*

Autonomous Centre of Edinburgh
17 W Montgomery Place, Edinburgh, Scotland
tel 0131 557 6242

PICKET USA CONSULATE IN EDINBURGH IN SOLIDARITY WITH LORENZO AND CHATTANOOGA 3

2PM WED 10TH JANUARY 2001 AT 3 REGENT TERRACE, EDINBURGH

The Chattanooga 3 - Lorenzo Komboa Ervin, Damon McGee and Mikail Musa 
Muhammad - go on trial on 11 January. They face up to a year in 
prison.  Your solidarity is needed.

Such is the brutal and racist nature of the US prison system that 
imprisonment for such black activists could well result in them being 
subjected to serious assaults, or worse.

Many will remember Lorenzo from his meetings in Edinburgh and Glasgow 
earlier this year, and will recall his moving and inspiring account of 
grass-roots resistance to state racist oppression in the deep south of the 
USA.  Now he and his comrades need our support.  We would urge you to e 
mail messages as described below, if at all possible to attend the picket 
in Edinburgh, and do whatever else you can.

For the picket please bring placards, banners, whistles, musical 
instruments, anything that makes a noise, felt pens, whatever you'd hope to 
find.  Please tell as many people as possible.  This is being organised at 
short notice by very few people, so offers of help very welcome.

Please leave a message at 0131 557 6242 (Autonomous Centre of Edinburgh)

Note - The US consulate is 10 - 15 minutes walk from the east end of 
Princes St - go along Waterloo Place, keep straight ahead, then turn half 
left along Regent Terrace after Calton Hill.  If there is enough support, 
after the picket we could continue activity on Princes St..

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!

-> Organize a Chattanooga 3 Action in Your Area - Some Suggestions

SUGGESTED ACTIONS FOR YOUR AREA
-> Protests, banner drops and other forms of action
-> Leafleting about the case and relating it to police brutality, PP/POWs, 
etc.
-> Showing up at the courthouse for supporters are in the area. Contact 
JoNina Abron for info.
-> Wearing black, and turning webpages black for the day
-> Fundraiser for defense and the Chattanooga 3 effort
-> Any creative act of resistance

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!

-> Continue to write letters for the Chattanooga 3 *new contacts*

TAKE IT TO THE DA

Write or e-mail letters of protest to the district attorney and the mayor 
demanding that the charges against the Chattannooga 3 be dismissed:

Bill Cox
Hamilton County District Attorney
City-County Courts Building
601 Market Street, 3rd Floor
Chattanooga, TN 37402
Fax: 423-209-7401
e-mail: Bill_Cox@hcda.cps.k12.tn.us [we've clogged this one and shut it down!]
Bill_cox@hcdatn.org [mail'em both!]

Jon Kinsey
Mayor of Chattanooga
101 E. I I th Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-1403
e-mail: mayor@mail.chattanooga.gov

CONTACT THE WHOLE DA'S OFFICE AND TELL THEM HOW YOU FEEL

"Barry Steelman Executive Assistant District Attorney" 
<Barry_steelman@hcdatn.org>, "Ben Boyer Assistant District Attorney" 
<Ben_boyer@hcdatn.org>, "HC Bright Assistant District Attorney" 
<Hc_bright@hcdatn.org>, "Bates Bryan Assistant District Attorney", 
<Bates_bryan@hcdatn.org>, "Dave Denny Assistant District Attorney" 
<Dave_denny@hcdatn.org>, "Dean Ferraro Assistant District Attorney" 
<Dean_ferraro@hcdatn.org>, "Rusty Hill, Assistant District Attorney" 
<Rusty_hill@hcdatn.org>, "Carl Huskins, Assistant District Attorney" 
<Carl_huskins@hcdatn.org>, "Tom Kimball, Assistant District Attorney" 
<Tom_Kimball@hcdatn.org>, "John Lee, Assistant District Attorney" 
<John_lee@hcdatn.org>, "Parke Masterson, Assistant District Attorney" 
<Parke_masterson@hcdatn.org>, "John Millican, Assistant District Attorney" 
<John_millican@hcdatn.org>, "Yolanda Mitchell, Assistant District Attorney" 
<Yolanda_Mitchell@hcdatn.org>, "Mary Sullivan Moore, Assistant District 
Attorney" <Mary_moore@hcadtn.org>, "Chris Poole, Assistant District 
Attorney" <Chris_poole@hcdatn.org>, "Joe Rehyansky, Assistant District 
Attorney" <Joe_rehyansky@hcdatn.org>, "Sally Slover, Assistant District 
Attorney" <Sally_slover@hcadtn.org>, "Lila Statom, Assistant District 
Attorney" <Lila_statom@hcdatn.org>, "Rodney Strong, Assistant District 
Attorney" <Rodney_strong@hcdatn.org>,  "Bill West, Assistant District 
Attorney" <Bill_west@hcdatn.org>

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!

-> Raise the Chattanooga 3 to local media *new info*

CHATTANOOGA DISCUSSION - WHAT ABOUT THE CHATTANOOGA 3?

WJTT - Power 94 FM Discussion Board
http://community.power94.net/commun_v3/scripts/directory.pl

University of Tennessee-Chattanooga Echo Message Board
http://pub6.ezboard.com/futcechoutcmessageboard

ASK THEM TO COVER THE CHATTANOOGA 3 CASE - PRESS CONTACTS

WRCB - Channel 3 - NBC affiliate
news@wrcbtv.com

WDEF - Channel 12 - CBS affiliate
news@wdef.com

WDSI - Channel 61 - Fox affiliate
wdsi@fox61tv.com

WTVC - Channel 9 - ABC affiliate
"If you have a story suggestion, a general question about our news or wish
to comment on something related to our Newscasts, send e-mail to
News@NewsChannel9.com. Our mailing address is P.O. Box 60028, Chattanooga,
TN 37406. "

LET THE LOCAL NEWSPAPERS KNOW WHAT YOU THINK

Chattanooga Times & Free Press Opinion
"We welcome your letters. Please keep them short (250 words or less),
legible, and include your name, address and telephone number. Letters may be
edited for clarity and length. They may be e-mailed to
letters@timesfreepress.com. They may also be mailed to The Editors, P.O. Box
1447, Chattanooga, TN 37401, or faxed to 423-757-6383."

University of Tennessee-Chattanooga Echo Letters to the Editor
echo@cecasun.utc.edu

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!

-> "Keep Fighting" from Lorenzo Komboa Ervin

I believe the MMM should be *indefinite* because even after the trial 
itself, we intend to appeal anything those people do to a higher court, if 
and when we are convicted in the case. The Tennessee Supreme Court is 
considering my first case, and the constitutionality of the statute may be 
decided, but we must lead a campaign independent of the capitalist courts.

  Keep fighting. You are a tremendous help.

Love and struggle,

Komboa

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X

-> What is Houston ABC=SG/ABCF?

The Houston ABC-SG is the area affiliate of the Anarchist Black Cross 
Federation  The ABC Federation is an organization founded for the material 
and political support and defense of Political Prisoners and Prisoners of 
War and movements from which they came.

Houston ABC-SG
ABCF People of Color Caucus
P.O. Box 667233
Houston, TX 77266-7233
(713) 595-2103, ext. 7585
Toll-free: 1-877-875-2600, extension 807
www.houstonabc.org

To start a local ABCF chapter, send $10 for a starter kit to: Jacksonville 
ABC-BG, 4204 Herschel St. #20, Jacksonville, FL 32210.

!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X!X


                       ********
               The A-Infos News Service
      News about and of interest to anarchists
                       ********
               COMMANDS: lists@ainfos.ca
               REPLIES: a-infos-d@ainfos.ca
               HELP: a-infos-org@ainfos.ca
               WWW: http://www.ainfos.ca
               INFO: http://www.ainfos.ca/org

 To receive a-infos in one language only mail lists@ainfos.ca the message
                unsubscribe a-infos
                subscribe a-infos-X
 where X = en, ca, de, fr, etc. (i.e. the language code)



A-Infos
News